Oftentimes motorists drive faster than the posted speed limit. They may not know what the speed limit is in the area they are driving, they may simply think they are driving the speed of traffic, or they may think that going five to ten miles per hour over the speed limit is no big deal. After all, speeding is something most motorists have done at least once.
As in any state, if a person receives a speeding ticket in Virginia they may be fined. However, in Virginia if a person is caught driving 20 mph over the posted speed limit they may be criminally charged with reckless driving. This is a very serious situation.
The consequences for being convicted of reckless driving in Virginia are significant. A person who is convicted of this crime will have to pay a fee for three years. In addition, first-time offenders will have to pay a fine in the amount of $350. And, if a person is caught reckless driving a second time, this will be charged as a felony. If convicted on such charges, the person will have to pay a $1,000 fine each year for three years.
Moreover, any fines a person has to pay for a traffic offense in Virginia must be paid within 40 days of the date of the offense. If this due date is missed, a person could incur interest on what they owe, their ticket could be sent to collections and in extreme circumstances a warrant may be issued for their arrest.
So, while it may not seem too serious in other states, speeding in Virginia can land someone in legal hot water. This affects not only Virginians, but also people from other states who are ticketed as they pass through Virginia. Therefore, those who receive a speeding ticket or are charged with reckless driving will want to make sure they do what is necessary to develop a solid criminal defense strategy, to avoid the harsh penalties associated with these crimes.